I’d get hooked

Let’s talk Non-traditional. Looking at Arnold’s archive of work, I found an interactive aquarium for Carnival Cruise Ships.

Here’s the deal: Digital aquariums are posted outside in six large cities. Due to mobile technology, pedestrians can call a number, make funny noises to create a fish (each noise creates a different type of fish), and then control the fish with your phone’s key pad. Fish also have some life and react to the movement of pedestrians.

I love this idea. I know that if I was downtown with some of my friends, we would stop to play. It allows people to interact with the brand and equate Carnival with Fun. Not only that, but the connection between a cruse ship and tropical fish is obvious and makes sense. Even if consumers don’t actually participate, the aquariums make an impression because they’re sure to be noticed.

Not only were these aquariums posted outdoors, but Arnold integrated the campaign by creating one online. Therefore, not only was Carnival reaching pedestrians in the select cities, but they could reach everyone with internet access.

I’m a fan. I wish I knew when these aquariums were up! I would have been hooked.

Leave a Reply

